EarthScope: Header Photo?

Image

On 8/27/2012 at 4:37 UT( 12:37 AM EDT) a 7.3 magnitude quake occurred 75 miles (120km) off the west shore of Central America. No damage was reported. About 6 minutes later, after traveling 2,000 miles(3,2019 Km), station M49A caught the waves.  Notice how the amplitude of all the other waves are reduced to compare the strengths? Otherwise, this one would “go off the charts” and be very difficult to measure. Also notice how the shock waves keep bouncing around for a couple of hours. Like the waves bouncing in a large pool before the surface finally calms down. As big as these waves are, we still feel nothing. This would be like a heavy train rumbling by for over an hour.

Look close…two “smaller” M5 earthquakes occurred in southern California the day before (8/26/2012), one just before 4 PM EDT(20:00 UTC) and a slightly bigger one after 5 PM EDT (21:00 UTC).  No damage was reported.

Advertisements

About Mike

Retired science teacher that is learning to blog...

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s