EarthScope: Mowing and a quake in Russia

Image

8/14/2012 : The biggest “blip” at a little after 17:00 UTC (1:00 PM EDT)  was me mowing, while at a little after 3:00 UTC (11:00PM EDT)  a 7.7M earthquake hit off the coast of Russia (Sea of Okhotsk). The waves of this quake took 11 minutes to travel 5,490 miles(8,835Km) to our little station M49A. It is indeed a small world.

Notice the waves continue and finally calm down a little before 5:00 UTC (1:00AM EDT on 8/15/2012) The earth’s crust is like a deep lake of dirt and rock. It behaves like water…..The waves continue to bounce around for hours…..Still we feel nothing…A good thing…

Advertisements

About Mike

Retired science teacher that is learning to blog...

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s