What was THAT?

Early this morning, while feeding my dogs in the dark, I was startled by a sound from a nearby tree. What was THAT? A very strange SCREECH that I have never heard before. With flashlight in hand, I searched in the darkess. The sound , wisely stopped. NOTHING. 😦

What was THAT?

I Googled…..It must have been a screech owl…or so I thought…

It took me awhile to find the sound…THAT IS IT????  OH, WOW!!!!!

Tonight, I look for that bird!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XjNwMKjrzfs

Mike

About Mike

Retired science teacher that is learning to blog...

4 thoughts on “What was THAT?

  1. Amy says:

    I think there is one in the woods close to us!! I heard this the other night walking with Bell and Noah. Noah said it was “a little spooky”.

  2. Mike says:

    This is the time of year for the young great horned owls to start making noise. They are big. They want to be fed and they know enough to hush up when people are near. It will not be long, they will be hunting on their own.

  3. jzhamlin says:

    I heard the adult I believe during my last visit…very cool that there will be more soon.

  4. songbirdrw says:

    Definitely must be owl season – we heard what we believe to be an adult Great Horned at our place. We’ve been hearing Screech owls too, but this was the actual HOOOT’n kind. 🙂 Finding a sound on the internet is not easy – persistence paid off!

Leave a Reply

