Why I Love Science

The Problem: Jeff Fox (OGS) sent me an email about strange spikes occurring at our little station, even in the middle of the night. He had a hunch that it was nearby traffic and asked me to collect some data and report.

My Mission: Sit out at the station and record traffic. Note the vehicle and time (UTC). It was raining, but water is not a variable in this experiment. Good science can not wait for good weather.

Procedure: I park my car next to LCHO, tune in NPR, crack open A Great Lakes IPA, and get to work! (I made two Gorilla Stops at the site to calibrate my time to UTC.) My dedication to accurate observations was rewarded by the results below.

Results: Email from Jeff: “Success my friend! That was the best email I’ve read in a LONG time! Thanks for putting a smile on my face and reminding me why I like doing this!  Attached is a PDF of your recordings, and it is confirmed that the noise is cars driving by!  Easy to remedy and filter out.  Thanks a bunch!”Noise experiment LCHO-1.jpg

This is one of the many reasons why, I Love Science!

 

About Mike

Retired science teacher that is learning to blog...

Leave a Reply

