Standing on the Wire…

In our last episode, Mike was hiking around Farnsworth Metropark and noticed this…

IMG_9290

It took me a few minutes to figure out what was going on.

IMG_9290_2

IMG_9289

IMG_9331

Yep, this is one of those Horizontal Directional Drills (HDD). Whaaaaaat?

I kept walking and taking pics…

IMG_9292
Look close. I did not see it on the first pass. See the wire?

I turned around…

IMG_9291

Where does that wire go?

Went back to the parking lot…

IMG_9296

See them? Bet you don’t… I move in closer…

IMG_9300

Two cement bricks, painted orange, in very shallow water. Still closer…

IMG_9298

See it? The wire continues across the river….IMG_9304

The wire crosses the river to an orange stake on the other bank. (Above and left of seagull…)

IMG_9304_2

Trust me, it’s there.(Click on Image to enlarge)

So this HDD is drilling a line under the Maumee River….It’s the Nexus gas line project. I never thought about the fact that it needs to cross the river. WOW….How does THAT work?

Check out the video…

Nexus Project Map and Q&A

Screen Shot 2016-08-24 at 7.56.40 AM

You can see this project while driving on the Ohio Turnpike near Sandusky.

The other side of this issue.. Fresh Water Accountability Project

No mention of the BG fault being a concern. If you look at my last post, Finding Fault with the Neighbors, you will see that a risk of a major quake is low for NW Ohio and slightly higher in Eastern Ohio. If there was a major earthquake, the gas line problem would just be one item on a long list of the destruction caused.

The earth is moving in all directions, all the time. We are just along for the ride.

And finally…. Where am I on this one issue, out of so many today?…..I’m “Standing on the Wire.”

-mzh

 

About Mike

Retired science teacher that is learning to blog...

Leave a comment